Bonhoeffer on the Reformation

Today’s reblog (from a post now four years old) is brought to you by Reformation Day!

W.onderful W.orld of W.adholms

I thought in light of Reformation Day (Oct. 31) I am posting about a sermon I recently read in the newly published Volume 12-Berlin: 1932-1933 of the Dietrich Bonhoeffer Works – English.  I was so thoroughly challenged by the words of his Reformation Sunday sermon (Nov. 6, 1932) that I couldn’t help but share some of it. His text was Revelation 2:4-5, 7:

“But I have this against you, that you have abandoned the love you had at the first.  Remember then from what you have fallen; repent, and do the works you did at first.  If not, I will come to you and remove your lampstand from its place, unless you repent….Let anyone who has an ear listen to what the Spirit is saying to the churches.  To everyone who conquers, I will give permission to eat from the tree of life that is in the paradise of God.”

(The following is…

View original post 324 more words

Leave a Reply

